What's New

England One-Day specialist players named for VB Series in Australia 2002-3

The England and Wales Cricket Board today named seven specialist One-Day players who will form part of the squad for the triangular VB Series - between Australia, England and Sri Lanka - in Australia this winter.

The remainder of the 16-man squad for the competition will be made up of players from the Test Match squad, which will already be in Australia competing for the Ashes. The full One-Day squad will be named nearer the start of the series, which begins on Friday 13 December.

Chairman of Selectors, David Graveney, said: "There is no urgency to select the full 16-man one-day squad at this stage and, by not doing so, we are keeping our options open to be able to assess the form and fitness of the Test Match players on tour.

"But we needed to pick these seven specialist players now in order for them to plan their winters and prepare for the tour. Clearly there have been recent injury concerns over Craig White and Paul Collingwood, and all players' fitness will be monitored nearer the time as normal."

England One-Day specialist players for VB Series:

Ian Blackwell Somerset 10.6.78
Paul Collingwood Durham 26.5.76
Ronnie Irani Essex 26.10.71
Nick Knight Warwickshire 28.11.69
Owais Shah Middlesex 22.10.78
Jeremy Snape Gloucestershire 27.4.73
Craig White Yorkshire 16.12.6

© 1998 - 2001 Durham County Cricket Club Disclaimer
County Ground, Riverside, Chester-le-Street, County Durham. DH3 3QR
Tel: 0191 387 1717 Fax: 0191 387 1616 E-mail: [email protected]

Designed and Maintained by Zebra Communcations