What's New

England Women's squad announced for ODI Series
*Official Team Sponsor - Vodafone*

England today named the 14-player ODI squad for the inaugural women's one-day international triangular tournament against India and New Zealand in Jersey and Durham this summer.

Charlotte Edwards (Kent) and Claire Taylor (Berkshire), England's most prolific batsmen in recent years, return to the squad following injuries. Edwards, England's leading run-scorer, has not represented her country since the World Cup in December 2000 following cruciate ligament damage to her knee.

Both players have returned to form as Captains in the ECB's Super Fours competition, the new domestic tournament for 48 elite players, which reaches its conclusion on Saturday 15th June at King's College, Taunton.

England Coach, John Harmer said "I am delighted that these players have worked hard and taken the opportunity to prove they are of international calibre at Super Fours. This is a strong squad, with experience and determination, and I'm looking forward to some competitive, exciting cricket this summer".

Gill McConway, ECB Director of Women's Cricket said " The players have all benefited from Super Fours which, for the first time, is providing a bridge between domestic and international cricket. Many of the players in Super Fours are young with aspirations to represent their country, so it's a long term plan but, hopefully, we'll see some immediate benefit this summer'.

England's Chairman of Selectors, Patsy Lovell said "we welcomed back many talented cricketers either from injury or the university commitments which kept them at home this winter".

The triangular tournament will be a first for both English women's cricket and the island of Jersey, which has never staged international cricket and will play host to the opening game on Wednesday 10th July. The ODI final will take place at Chester-le-Street, Durham on Saturday 20th July 2002.

The 14 players are:

Player England Caps Date of birth
Clare Connor (Sussex) Captain 64 01.09.2020
Sarah Collyer (Lancs) 19 03.10.2020
Charlotte Edwards (Kent) 35 17.12.2020
Mandie Godliman (Sussex) 3 05.04.2021
Laura Harper (Somerset) 11 21.01.2021
Kathryn Leng (Yorkshire) 42 10.09.2020
Laura Newton (Cheshire) 21 27.11.2020
Lucy Pearson (Staffs) 41 19.02.2021
Melissa Reynard (Yorks) 44 14.03.2021
Nicki Shaw (Notts) 15 30.12.2020
Laura Spragg (Yorks) 2 16.06.2021
Claire Taylor (Berks) 26 25.09.2020
Clare Taylor (Yorks) 92 22.05.2021
Arran Thompson (Lancs) 17 23.11.2020

Caroline Atkins (Sussex), Jane Cassar (Notts), Dawn Holden (Notts), Hannah Lloyd (Somerset).

The ODI Triangular Tournament:

10th July England v India Granville Ground, Jersey
11th July New Zealand v India Granville Ground, Jersey
12th July New Zealand v England Granville Ground, Jersey
16th July New Zealand v England Racecourse Ground, Durham
17th July New Zealand v India Racecourse Ground, Durham
19th July *India v England Chester-le-Street, Durham
20th July *FINAL Chester-le-Street, Durham

* Matches televised by Sky Sports

© 1998 - 2001 Durham County Cricket Club Disclaimer
County Ground, Riverside, Chester-le-Street, County Durham. DH3 3QR
Tel: 0191 387 1717 Fax: 0191 387 1616 E-mail: [email protected]

Designed and Maintained by Zebra Communcations